85- Bellflower [4.5]

Follows two friends as they venture out into the world to begin their adult lives. Literally all their free time is spent building flame-throwers and weapons of mass destruction in hopes that a global apocalypse will occur and clear the runway for their imaginary gang “Mother Medusa”.

Bellflower may be one of the first times in which I started off loathing a movie in the first act, then became heavily engrossed in the second, only to throw my hands up in frustration for the third. Director/writer/actor Evan Glodell and his crew are a talented bunch, but Bellflower is all over the place.

Thematically, the fractured narrative works, but the “gotcha” sequence towards the end is downright annoying. I’ll leave it at that as I shy away from big spoilers in my brief reviews, but if you end up loving Bellflower, email me and I can go into depth with what I found problematic.

As a final note: this question doesn’t need to be addressed in the vast majority of movies, but what the heck do any of these people do for a living? I would’ve been satisfied with someone at least mentioning going to work. Considering what occurs throughout Bellflower, I don’t believe the question to be a matter of semantics.

Tags:

One response to “85- Bellflower [4.5]”

  1. wilde.dash says :

    Generally agree, there were a ton of issues in Bellflower, but they felt glossed over by an attention to visuals and pyrotechnics (unexpected in such a lo-fi location). It was painfully hip and posed, but one of my biggest personal problems was that the characters all sort of looked the same to me…no idea why.

Leave a Reply

