47- The Nines [2.0]

A troubled actor, a television show runner, and an acclaimed videogame designer find their lives intertwining in mysterious and unsettling ways.

Movies that are intended to be interpreted and deal with “big ideas” are quite tricky to discuss. While it’s certainly preferable to see someone with a vision create something original as oppose to a retread on any number of genres and films, at what expense does it come?

Inception divided people but was largely well received because, despite an overuse of exposition, there was an abundance of tangible information that was given to the audience to make sense of all the fantastical sequences. David Lynch has made a career out of puzzling viewers and has been successful and found a niche audience from it. On the other hand, take Richard Kelly’s Southland Tales, a hugely ambitious failure that has yet to attain the cult status it was predicted to gain.

The Nines did not work for me on virtually any level. I have no objection to admitting that I was l largely confused at times. Is there a larger meaning, some theme throughout that pulls everything together? Perhaps, but I didn’t find it. Even worse, I wasn’t entertained in the slightest. Intertwining stories can work (see Go), but often are lazy messes (see Crash–no, don’t actually see that film). The Nines also lacks a single sympathetic character, and that’s a problem for a movie like this. Of course, someone else may interpret that otherwise.

Tags:

3 responses to “47- The Nines [2.0]”

  1. mcarteratthemovies says :

    I’m finding that Ryan Reynolds has done a surprising number of lesser-known indie films like “Paper Man” and “Chaos Theory” … and I tend to like them better than his mainstream stuff.

  2. Justine says :

    I watched this the other day. I wanted to enjoy it but the first story line really disappointed me and just left me feeling off and I really couldn’t focus on the rest.

  3. rtm says :

    I’ve never even heard of this movie but it doesn’t sound like something I’d enjoy. I haven’t been into Ryan Reynolds much, only seen maybe a couple of his movies. He’s comes across a likable guy on screen though.

Leave a Reply

