41- The Troll Hunter [4.0]

The story of a group of Norwegian film students that set out to capture real-life trolls on camera after learning their existence has been covered up for years by a government conspiracy.

At one point early on in The Troll Hunter, a character says “We are patiently waiting for something to happen.” Regardless if this was a wink at the audience or not, I certainly felt the same way. The film doesn’t add much to the shaky camera, found footage genre, and suffers most when attempting to be political. The troll CGI (that’s something you don’t say everyday) looks best in broad daylight but doesn’t fare as well when the cameraman has to turn on night-vision. For a low budget film, it’s still somewhat impressive, and makes me wish that the filmmakers took a different visual approach to the material.

Tags:

3 responses to “41- The Troll Hunter [4.0]”

  1. Douglas says :

    You find a lot of movies I’ve never even heard of. I’d like to hear a little more about where you’re watching them. As for your blogroll invite, I’m certainly interested, and have added your site to my roll.

  2. jarwatchesfilms says :

    Excellent, I’ve got you up as well! Living in New York is advantageous for going out and seeing movies that are in limited release. As far as the resources I use to find movies, I frequent aintitcool.com, collider.com, slashfilm.com, badassdigest.com and the like to find what people that somewhat share my taste are reporting/reviewing. Otherwise, it’s just a matter of being recommended from friends and going out and doing my own research.

  3. Hunter says :

    This seems like an interesting film, hopefully it’ll end up on Netflix sooner or later. Lately I’ve found myself really interested in Scandinavian films, so finding out about news ones (never seen Norwegian, too) is awesome. Always looking to broaden by film horizons.

    Out of curiosity, have you seen any other Scandinavian films lately? Specifically, for me, the Swedish Dragon Girl trilogy is pretty great, I think. I don’t see it on your list, though, so I would definitely recommend it if you haven’t seen them already.

Leave a Reply

