21- A Single Man [9.0]

A story that centers on an English professor who, after the sudden death of his partner tries to go about his typical day in Los Angeles.

For his directorial debut, fashion designer Tom Ford employs a divisive visual aesthetic that I found to be gorgeous. The desaturated photography looks not unlike that which you’d find in a highly stylized fashion advertisement. Colin Firth really pulls you into George’s depression. This was the performance he should have won an Oscar for. If you’re ever lost a lover, beware: A Single Man might feel all too real.

Tags:

3 responses to “21- A Single Man [9.0]”

  1. NJ says :

    Hey, great quick writeup on the film — I’ll give it a go.

    Also, keep the website as long as possible… there are those who follow… 🙂

  2. Kyle Simonsen says :

    Watched this during the week, thought I’d leave you my thoughts.

    I agree that this was probably an Oscar-worthy performance for Firth. I haven’t really seen many films he’s been in (and looking at his resume on iMDB, it’s easy for me to see why) and I was really impressed at how nuanced and intense he was throughout.

    I really liked the way this ended; I think Hollywood struggles a lot with the happy ending/sad ending dichotomy, and I think this concluded in a way that was much more genuine and credible. Very satisfactory.

    I struggled a lot with the sensual close-ups and especially the score, which seemed overwrought almost to the point of absurdity. Some of the dialog seemed stilted to me as well.

    I’m really starting to become fascinated by this time period in lit and film, on a tangential note.

    Overall, this was a beautiful film driven by a great acting performance. I think it’s probably an 8.0 or an 8.5 for me, if you force me to put a number on it (which you do, by implication, since you are doing so).

  3. kindafunnylookin says :

    Hey,

    Nice review there. I agree that Colin Firth is very good in this, although Julianne Moore gives an outstanding performance also.

    Gorgeous looking film too.

    Mr L

Leave a Reply

